Coverart for item
The Resource Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur, (eBook)

Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur, (eBook)

Label
Ghachar ghochar
Title
Ghachar ghochar
Statement of responsibility
Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • kan
  • eng
Summary
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
IDEBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Śānabhāga, Vivēka
Dewey number
894.8/14371
Index
no index present
LC call number
PL4659.S2518
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Perur, Srinath
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • India
Label
Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur, (eBook)
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn967393477
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101992944
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
  • 984065
  • 081E31F2-664F-4213-B0F5-AB31F810A043
System control number
(OCoLC)967393477
Label
Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur, (eBook)
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn967393477
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781101992944
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
  • 984065
  • 081E31F2-664F-4213-B0F5-AB31F810A043
System control number
(OCoLC)967393477

Library Locations

  • BookmobileBorrow it
    Stamford, CT, US
  • Ferguson LibraryBorrow it
    1 Public Library Plaza, Stamford, CT, 06904, US
    41.055678 -73.539133
  • Harry Bennett BranchBorrow it
    115 Vine Road, Stamford, CT, 06905, US
    41.099460 -73.543837
  • South End BranchBorrow it
    34 Woodland Ave, Stamford, CT, 06902, US
    41.044258 -73.538787
  • Weed Memorial & Hollander BranchBorrow it
    1143 Hope St, Stamford, CT, 06907, US
    41.097446 -73.519698
Processing Feedback ...