Coverart for item
The Resource The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (LT)

The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (LT)

Label
The girls : a novel
Title
The girls
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Emma Cline
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Girls--their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong--are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction--and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cline, Emma
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3603.L547
LC item number
G58 2016b
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Teenage girls
  • Communal living
  • Nineteen sixties
  • Counterculture
  • Large type books
  • Communal living
  • Counterculture
  • Nineteen sixties
  • Teenage girls
  • California
Label
The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (LT)
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn928105919
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
369 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9780735208186
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)928105919
Label
The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (LT)
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn928105919
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
369 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9780735208186
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)928105919

Library Locations

    • Harry Bennett BranchBorrow it
      115 Vine Road, Stamford, CT, 06905, US
      41.099460 -73.543837
Processing Feedback ...