The Resource The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (eAudio)

The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (eAudio)

Label
The girls : a novel
Title
The girls
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Emma Cline
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong--this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides' The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.Advance praise for The Girls "The Girls is a brilliant and intensely consuming novel--imposing not just for a writer so young, but for any writer, any time."--Richard Ford "Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture's fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind."--Lena Dunham "Emma Cline's first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction."--Jennifer Egan "I don't know which is more amazing, Emma Cline's understanding of human beings or her mastery of language."--Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeFrom the Hardcover edition
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cline, Emma
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3603.L547
LC item number
G58 2016ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Cady McClain
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1969-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
McClain, Cady
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Teenage girls
  • Communal living
  • Counterculture
  • Communal living
  • Counterculture
  • Nineteen sixties
  • Teenage girls
  • California
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (eAudio)
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn951970170
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 45 min.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780147524003
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
92b1d1b2-013f-4971-9554-c8ae88802e06
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
(OCoLC)951970170
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
The girls : a novel, Emma Cline, (eAudio)
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn951970170
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 45 min.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780147524003
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
92b1d1b2-013f-4971-9554-c8ae88802e06
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
System control number
(OCoLC)951970170
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Harry Bennett BranchBorrow it
    115 Vine Road, Stamford, CT, 06905, US
    41.099460 -73.543837
  • Main Library - Dimatta BuildingBorrow it
    1 Public Library Plaza, Stamford, CT, 06904, US
    41.055678 -73.539133
  • South End BranchBorrow it
    34 Woodland Ave, Stamford, CT, 06902, US
    41.044258 -73.538787
  • Weed Memorial & Hollander BranchBorrow it
    1143 Hope St, Stamford, CT, 06907, US
    41.097446 -73.519698
Processing Feedback ...