Coverart for item
The Resource Spymistress : the True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (eBook)

Spymistress : the True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (eBook)

Label
Spymistress : the True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II
Title
Spymistress
Title remainder
the True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The New York Times Bestseller by the Author of A Man Called IntrepidIdeal for fans of Nancy Wake, Virginia Hall, The Last Goodnight by Howard Blum, The Woman Who Smashed Codes, The Wolves at the Door by Judith Pearson, and similar works. Shares the story of Vera Atkins, legendary spy and holder of the Legion of Honor. Written by William Stevenson, the only person whom she trusted to write her biography She was stunning. She was ruthless. She was brilliant and had a will of iron. Born Vera Maria Rosenberg in Bucharest, she became Vera Atkins. William Stephenson, the spymaster who would later be known as "Intrepid", recruited her when she was twenty-three. Vera spent most of the 1930s running too many dangerous espionage missions to count. When war was declared in 1939, her many skills made her one of the leaders of the Special Operations Executive (SOE), a covert intelligence agency formed by, and reporting to, Winston Churchill. She trained and recruited hundreds of agents, including dozens of women. Their job was to seamlessly penetrate deep behind the enemy lines. As General Dwight D. Eisenhower said, the fantastic exploits and extraordinary courage of the SOE agents and the French Resistance fighters "shortened the war by many months." They are celebrated, as they should be. But Vera Atkins's central role has been hidden until after she died; William Stevenson promised to wait and publish her story posthumously. Now, Vera Atkins can be celebrated and known for the hero she was: the woman whose beauty, intelligence, and unwavering dedication proved key in turning the tide of World War II
Cataloging source
Midwest
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stevenson, William
Dewey number
  • 940.548641092
  • B
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
hoopla digital
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Atkins, Vera
  • Great Britain
  • Spies
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Electronic books
Target audience
adult
Label
Spymistress : the True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (eBook)
Instantiates
Publication
Distribution
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
MWT12358395
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Isbn
9781628721867
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Publisher number
MWT12358395
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
12358395
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web
Label
Spymistress : the True Story of the Greatest Female Secret Agent of World War II, (eBook)
Publication
Distribution
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
MWT12358395
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
  • online
  • electronic
Governing access note
Digital content provided by hoopla
Isbn
9781628721867
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Publisher number
MWT12358395
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
12358395
System details
Mode of access: World Wide Web

Library Locations

  • BookmobileBorrow it
    Stamford, CT, US
  • Ferguson LibraryBorrow it
    1 Public Library Plaza, Stamford, CT, 06904, US
    41.055678 -73.539133
  • Harry Bennett BranchBorrow it
    115 Vine Road, Stamford, CT, 06905, US
    41.099460 -73.543837
  • South End BranchBorrow it
    34 Woodland Ave, Stamford, CT, 06902, US
    41.044258 -73.538787
  • Weed Memorial & Hollander BranchBorrow it
    1143 Hope St, Stamford, CT, 06907, US
    41.097446 -73.519698
Processing Feedback ...